Edinburgh to Glasgow: Changeovers

If the rivalry and anxiety were intense throughout, they were nearest the surface at the changeovers:  This group includes Hammy Cox, Glen Stewart and Frank Boyne and their expressions tell a story.

The year for the above photograph was 1952, not 1951

George White to Pat Younger, Clydesdale, 1954

John Stevenson to Tom O’Reilly at the start of the fourth stage in 1954

Graham Everett to Eddie Bannon, Shettleston, 1956

What follows is a series of changeover pictures.   Photographs from Danny Wilmoth, Des Yuill,  Graham MacIndoe, Graeme Orr and Alex Miller.

Tony Coyne to Billy Coyle (Shettleston)

Stuart Barnett to Frank McGowan (Victoria Park)

Frank Blackstock to young David Donnet (Springburn)

Alex McIndoe  to Jim Cooper (Springburn)

Dundee Hawkhill changeover under the watchful Danny Wilmoth

Bill Scally to Les Menelly (Shettleston) in 1967

Dave Logue to Ian Young (EUH&H) in 1967

Davie Simpson to John Myatt (Law and District)

Jamie Hendry to James Austin (Clydesdale)


John Pentecost to Stuart Easton (FVH)

Spango Valley at last changeover, Barrachnie

ESH, 1987, start of third leg

1987 Falkirk Victoria Harriers, start of third leg

Edinburgh AC, Kenny Mortimer starting the last leg at Barrachnie