Edinburgh – Glasgow: The start


The line up in 1949

Over the years, training methods changed, runners gear changed shoes in particular changed, the volume of traffic on the road changed but the atmosphere and the starting line nerves jangled as much every year as they had the first time the men lined up below the News of the World banner.   




1957 (above)








15 J McNeil (Law), 4 Duncan McFadyen( Wellpark), 12 Derek Easton (FVH), 10 Iain Steel, 11 Graeme Haddow (EUH&H)