Club Team Photographs

Like the club groups, the different styles and poses through the ages can be seen in these pictures of club winning teams and groups – tracksuits vary as the ages go by.   Millington’s finest via Admiral’s money makers to the modern synthetic fabrics that never saw a sheep’s back or a cotton bud.    From neatly dressed for the sports day through 60’s and 70’s hippiedom to today’s neat, usually, hair styles, from formal posing to informal standing around,    There are a range of clubs here from Aberdeen to West Kilbride in alphabetical order – more photographs of winning, placed or just teams always welcome.

Aberdeen: Scottish Junior Cross-Country Champions, 1976

Fraser Clyne, Danny Buchan, Graham Laing, Steve Cassells

Aberdeen AAC after winning vets Cross-Country, Troon, 1992

Graham Milne, Colin Youngson, George Sim, Francis Duguid


Aberdeen AAC

                                                                                         Graham Milne, Mel Edwards, Fraser Clyne, Graham Laing

Cambuslang Harriers Scottish Masters M50 Team, 2015

Cambuslang Harriers: Scottish Masters M40 Team winners, 2015

Cambuslang Harriers2010 BMAF Road Relay winning team



Clydesdale National Cross-Country winning teams from 1904 and 1905

Clydesdale Harriers: West District Relay winning team, 1995

Ewan Calvert, James Austin, Grant Graham, Des Roache

Dundee Hawkhill Harriers team, 1930’s

Edinburgh University team taken after winning medley relay in North Berwick: CAR Dennis, JV Paterson, A Hannah, WH Watson

Edinburgh University, Edinburgh to Glasgow Winners, 1965

Back: Roger Young, Chris Elson, Willie Allan, Frank Gamwell, Iain Hathorn (Hon Sec);  Front: Fergus Murray, Jim Wight, Alex Wight, Alistair Blamire

Edinburgh AC  24 hours x 1 mile world record team

Back: Joe Patton,  Danny Knowles, Doug Gunstone, Jim Alder, Jim Dingwall; Front:   Ronnie Knowles, Phil Hay, Alex Wight, Jim Wight, Alex Matheson

                                                                                                                      Falkirk Victoria Harriers

Glasgow University team at the Isle of Man:

Dougie McDonald, Alastair Douglas, Ian Archibald, Raph Murray

Hunters Bog Trotters: Capital City Challenge


Law and District AAC: West District Relay Champions 1974

Alex Miller, Hugh Forgie, Jim Thomson and Billy Dickson


Pitreavie AAC, Scottish Vets Cross-Country winners, Musselburgh, 1987

Archie Duncan, Phil Shave, John Linaker, Bill Ewing

Two photographs below of Shettleston Harriers teams with the Elkington Shield for the National Championship

Shettleston H National winning team, 1921

Shettleston Harriers, National winners, 1948

The team that won the six stage road relay in centenary year with David Morrison holding the trophy

With the trophy for the McAndrew Relay.


The National Cross-Country Relay winners

The Allan Scally winning team

The Shettleston team which went to Arlon and came within a single point of winning the European Clubs Championship

Lachie Stewart, Dick Wedlock, Henry Summerhill, Norman Morrison, Paul Bannon and Tommy Grubb

Shettleston team, second in the 1999 Edinburgh to Glasgow

Spango Valley won the McAndrew Relay in 1986.

Chris Robison, Lawrie Spence, Peter and Stephen Connaghan

Springburn Harriers team – second in GB Vets Championships

Bill Ramage, Tom O’Reilly and Tony White

Victoria Park AAC